Food Writing, From my Perspective…

“One cannot think well, love well, sleep well, if one has not dined well.” ― Virginia Woolf, A Room of One's Own

Am I What I Eat?

Leave a comment

Jean-Anthelme Brillat-Savarin says, “Tell me what you eat and I will tell you what you are.” After I read this quote over and over again all I could think of was, Am I what I eat? What an interesting question to ask myself. How do you know if you are what you eat? If I eat chipotle burritos, chick fil a sandwiches, and packaged salad, am I considered a person of fast food? Am I a fast food eater? But yet, I still have many home cooked meals that I long for everyday.

For my birthday, it is never the same thing. It is whatever I feel like, it could be fish tacos, pizza, Italian food, or a nice bowl of ramen. My birthday dinners are spontaneous to what I desire that day, or around that time. Honestly, I go through times where I only crave pizza, I don’t know why, it just happens. Does that make me a spontaneous person?

As I explored this question I found that this blog let me explore my boundaries in writing. I found what I enjoyed writing about and I found the types of writing I was stronger with and what I struggled with. I loved the fact that I was able to share some of my family background within the blog. I feel that it gives my readers a chance to get to know me and what my family is all about. I cannot believe that time has gone by so fast already, and that it was January when I wrote my first blog post.

Throughout the semester I did enjoy learning new things that came with the readings and observations. Reading to learn to improve my writing made me realize that you do not learn to write better by studying it. You learn to write better by writing more and more. The more you write, the more you get comfortable with yourself as a writer. That is when you learn who your audience is and what theme flows throughout your writing.

My favorite post is “The Oh-So Amazing Avocado. My project on avocados, let me explore the topic of one of my favorite foods and it made me express my feelings through writing. I loved learning more about the history and the different ways people ate and prepared them because it broadened my knowledge to a great extent. With my avocado research under my belt I now look at them differently, I savor them so much more now that I know all the hard work it takes to grow them.

As an actual writer, I know I have expanded my boundaries of how I can write. I realized that I have a very solid voice in my writing; I really did express my opinions in a very straightforward kind of way.

So, now that I am closing my blog, I can gladly say that I love this topic more than I did in the beginning. I loved writing in the form of blog posts, it made me feel that I can basically say what ever was on my mind. There was no structure like a research paper in psychology, or a book report in literature. I truly enjoyed writing freely with a topic that I love so much, food!

So, as I come to a close, let me ask again am I what I eat?

I am a writer who enjoys all and any kinds of food. I am not a picky eater, nor am I a picky writer. I am what I eat; I am anything and everything that comes to mind.

Leave a Reply

